top of page
Search
  • sisterlyandco

Halloween Horchata

I (Isabel) studied abroad in Mexico while in undergrad in an effort to improve my Spanish and eat my weight in street tacos. I did both. And top of that, while I was there, I met my one true love... Horchata. (My husband wasn’t around then and besides, he knows his place).


Now, for those who know anything about this magical drink you know it involves A LOT of soaking and pouring and straining and cheese cloth. It’s quite a process. And when I returned to the states, i craved it like crazy but didn’t have time for the 8 hour rice soak and countless cheese cloth straining sessions. So, I came up with this soak-less, strain-less BUT oh so yummy Horchata Recipe. Look, don’t get me wrong, I love the real stuff! But this quick “Chata” does the trick for me (and I hope it does for you too)!

We found these adorable straws at JoAnns and milk containers at Hobby Lobby. Add a ghost face for a spooky touch!

- 6 cups Rice Milk (from the carton - no boiling and soaking necessary)

- 14 oz. can of Sweetened Condensed Milk

- 1 tsp. vanilla

- Cinnamon to taste


Using a whisk or hand mixer, combine rice milk, sweetened condensed milk and vanilla in a bowl. Add cinnamon to taste, pour over ice and enjoy! Salud!


*You can add a splash of salt to balance the sweetness if you like.



Happy Horchata-ween!

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
bottom of page